Skip to main content

Sisters of Mercy History

 Collection
Identifier: UA-236

Scope and Contents

This collection contains programs and liturgies of celebrations held in Dublin, Pittsburgh, and Erie, and calendars and newspaper supplements commemorating the 150th anniversary of the establishment of the Sisters of Mercy in Dublin, Ireland, in 1831. There are two biographies of their foundress, Mother Catherine McAuley, by Sr. Mary Lawrence Franklin, R.S.M. The latter's history of the Erie Mercies, From Eire to Erie, and her collection of poems and plays about her fellow religious sisters, Mercy Rocks and Gems, are also included. Of special interest is the play "A Mural Comes to Life" about the painting in the sanctuary of Mercyhurst University chapel. There is also a recording "Glory to God" of sacred songs by St. Patrick's Senior Choir, Franklin, PA., directed by Sr. M. Felice Duska, R.S.M.

Dates

  • 1831-1981

Extent

.5 Linear Feet (1 archival box.)

2 Files (2 oversize folders.)

1 Reels (1 record.)

Language of Materials

English

Language of description
Undetermined
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Sister Mary Lawrence Franklin Archival Center Repository

Contact:
Mercyhurst University
501 East 38th Street
Hammermill Library
Erie Pennsylvania 16546 United States